Pretty in Pink

tumblr_o79jlkxgjU1qdw1kro1_500

If only.

 

________________________________

Up in them thar Hills Yonder.

Capture3

Its amazing the number of passionate cyclists around Adelaide who are taking their passion to the next level. Hills Yonder are a local group of lads working in the graphic design space but have a great passion for cycling, and have been developing some great kit that hasn’t had much exposure.

I had the latest Hills Yonder gilet dropped off to me a month back and have had the chance to give it a good solid workout over the last few weeks in the cooler weather.

I rode the Medium gilet, which was a good fit for me. There was sufficient freedom to allow me to move around without any restrictions, but not too much that flapped around in the wind.

The material is something I haven’t come across before. A glossy external appearance, lightweight and nicely resistant to the breeze on those cool mornings around Mt Lofty.

Like any good gilet, it has 3 external pockets to add extra storage space for those arm warmers or other gear that you need to remove without having to wangle it into your jersey pockets.

IMG_5976IMG_5980

Capture

Made in Italy, designed in Adelaide, a great addition to the local makers scene.

Other kit in their range include the new long sleeved winter jersey, short sleeved jersey and bibs.

 

Capture 2Capture 4

To order this Gilet, or any of their other products, contact hills & yonder on orders@hillsyonder.com, or you can poke your nose into the Cycle Closet, shop 2/122 Pirie Street, Adelaide or Treadly 4-10, Ebenezer Place, Adelaide.

 

______________________

Suplest

I haven’t seen these before, but they apparently have a strong following overseas and are growing their Australian profile.  Suplest was founded in Berne, Switzerland in 2007 by Robert Gehrig and Daniel Balmer. both are shoe loving passionate cyclists.

Capture

All new projects we work on at suplest always adhere to following three principles: Premiumness, Swissness and Simplicity. suplest is a small premium cycling shoe company benefiting from short decision-making channels realizing the best solutions. This allows our customers freedom from worrying about the details, so they can enjoy the suplest ride. We follow our motto ‘shoes made by bikers’.

EDGE/3 Road Shoes

01033_A-DA_615x395_suplest01033_B_615x395_suplest01033_E_615x395_suplest

The ultra-stiff carbon sole ensures that power transfer is maximised, while high-tech fabrics boost breathability. Two Boa closures ensure a precise fit, but it’s the unique and innovative thin carbon shield under the laces that sets the Suplest apart, spreading the load and delivering class-leading comfort without sacrificing performance.

Capture3

 

Capture4

Keep an eye out for them. Further details here.  Suplest

_____________________

Giro

The Giro highlights so far

Stage 1

235-586590329

Tom DUMOULIN Giro d'Italia 2016

 

Stage 2

122402_586992657Caleb EWAN and Esteban CHAVES

Giro d'Italia 2016

Giro D'Italia 2016: scond stage
Marcel Kittel
Giro d'Italia 2016
Giro d’Italia 2016. ANSA/ALESSANDRO DI MEO
07-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 02 Arnhem - Nijmegen; 2016, Giant-alpecin; Dumoulin, Tom; Nijmegen;
Tom Dumoulin

Stage 3

Marcel Kittel
Marcel Kittel

172142_587351558

 

Stage 4

 

10-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 04 Catanzaro - Praia A Mare; Catanzaro;10-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 04 Catanzaro - Praia A Mare; Catanzaro;

165912_587864033

Giro d'Italia 2016
Italian rider Diego Ussi

172316_587783386

10-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 04 Catanzaro - Praia A Mare; 2016, Giant-alpecin; Dumoulin, Tom; Praia A Mare;
Tom Dumoulin

Stage 5

111758_588095880

Giro d'Italia 2016

Giro d'Italia: fifth stage
Andre Greipel

11-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 05 Praia A Mare - Benevento; 2016, Lotto Soudal; Greipel, Andre; Benevento;

Giro d'Italia: fifth stage
Tom Dumoulin

Stage 6

Giro d'Italia 2016Giro d'Italia 2016

Tim WELLENS

Tim Wellens172919_588329105

 

173049_588341971

12-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 06 Ponte - Roccaraso; 2016, Lotto Soudal; Wellens, Tim; Roccaraso;
Tim Wellens

174610_588321689

Stage 7

13-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 07 Sulmona - Foligno; Sulmona;Giro d'Italia 2016Giro d'Italia 2016

165611_ZEN_7614171226_588749182182824_bazz0357

Stage 8

Giro d'Italia 201614-05-2016 Giro D'italia; Tappa 08 Foligno - Arezzo; 2016, Cannondale; Moser, Moreno; Alpe Di Poti;

162919_588795508

 

Gianluca BRAMBILLA
Italian Gianluca Brambilla

 

 

Giro d'Italia 2016

165828_588849255

Stage 9

Giro d'Italia 2016
Giro d’Italia 2016. ANSA/CLAUDIO PERI

568-589153515

Stage 10

132706_589764148

Giro d'Italia 2016
Italian rider Giulio Ciccone jubilates with Bike Sponsor Mario Cipollini (L) after crossing the finish line to win the 10th stage
Giro d'Italia 2016
New Race leader Bob Jungels

172119_589855484

 

 _______________________

Queen Stage – Stage 14 – The Dolomites

Over the last 150 km of this queen stage across the Dolomites, 6 passes will be climbed, for a total rise and drop of 4,700 m (out of 5,400). The route runs across the Val Cordevole along well-surfaced roads, all the way to Arabba. Here, the route clears Passo Pordoi, followed by Passo Sella and Passo Gardena (with not even a single flat metre in between), and heads for the first pass over the finish line in Corvara (intermediate sprint). The road then climbs up Passo Campolongo, Passo Giau (the harshest climb of the stage, with an average 9% gradients, and peaks of more than 10-12% over the first kilometres) and Passo Valparola, which leads to the final 5 km.

The route clears Muro del Gatto (360 m, with gradients ranging from 13 to 19%), and then drops down into the trunk road leading to Corvara, still climbing slightly (average slope: 2-3%). The last bend is 150 m from the finish line.

T15_MadonnaDC_2_altT13_Jesolo_plan

 

______________________________

Rider of the Week – Igor Tavella

011_1452

This week I take a jaunt around the Dolomites with Igor. This is Igor’s Story.

I was born in 1976 and started road bike racing at the age of 6.  In order to
find some motivation I tried every kind of cycling discipline. I switched from
roadbike to BMX, Mountainbike and finally cyclocross that was the real first
LOVE for cycling.

I cyclocrossed from 1991 to 1997 at national level and  from 1998 to 2006 in the international field taking part at world cup races  and world championchips. I’ve never did in the front group and in my worst  races I was able to see the top riders twice ….. at the start and when they overlapped me. I had also the big luck to took part in 2000 at the Baby Giro  d’Italia on roadbike.

italian-cyclocross-champs-1992

While still working part time in the family owned hotel, I founded together with some friends the tour operator Holimites that focuses on organizing active holidays in the Dolomites. Holimites started just as a part time hobby but grew so successful that we have right now up to 8 people working for us.

holimites-logo-testo

Right now I’m starting to take over the hotel family business Ustaria Posta where I hope to continue to greet as many cyclists as possible from all over the world.

  • You live and breathe the Dolomites, what can you tell me about how you got started in cycling.
Without any doubt I need to blame my father. I was ‘gently’ forced to follow his passion. At home 2 sports were allowed, skiing in winter and cycling in summer. Of course he didn’t forbid me to do other activities, but neither was he jumping for happiness when I was going out for soccer training.
150816_4071-4
I had my first roadbike race at the age of 6 and it took me really a decade to finally love this sport. How this worked out can be read here: http://www.cyclingdolomites.com/about-cycling-the-dolomites/
  • What are your favorite memories of growing up in the Dolomites?
Honestly, I really don’t have memories, maybe because living in a real heaven, every day is memorable. If I would need to move to another place maybe memories would come up soon I think.
140821_borz-erbe_4-3
So at the moment I live by the day as Kung Fu Panda teaches:
Yesterday is history, tomorrow is mystery but today is a gift that is why it is call ” Present”
  • Are you just a roadie, or do you cross over to other disciplines?
I’ve ridden everything on two wheels, and I still own at least one bike of every discipline.
I’m actually switching from roadbike to mountainbike, cyclocross or freeride downhill. During winter I’m also riding on a fatbike, and starting this summer I’ve the occasion to start testing some gravel bikes. In younger years I raced also in BMX. Now let’s hope the switch to an E-Bike takes as a long while.
  • How many bikes have you owned in your life?
I really can’t remember, counting also all the cyclocross bikes you need during a race season I think that I had at least around 30 bikes.
  • How many bikes do you own now and what is your main go to bike?
I’m lucky that many times I get some bikes for testing purposes, but sadly I need to give
back after a while. So what I own (what I paid for) are actually 2 roadbikes, 1 mountain bike
and 2 cyclocross bikes. The one I use more is my already 15 years old steel SCAPIN
bike.
SONY DSC
SONY DSC
  • If money were no object, what would you next bike be?
Without any doubt a tailor made Pegoretti. By the way, I’m only a 2 hours car drive away to
the Pegoretti ‘delivery room’ 😀
14083507945631438442562145-lf9k2hmuwco1-700-80
  • How do you store your bikes?

I’ve a little ritual. As soon I get a new bike (even the ones I can test … if I’m the first one that can ride them), they come with me in my bedroom until the first ride. Of course my wife makes sure that the bike remains just one night in the bedroom and is happy if I’m on my ride.

After the first ride all bikes are stored in my family owned hotel bike garage.
160407_5409-1160407_5410-2
  • Do you do all your own maintenance or do you use a LBS?
When I had more time I was doing pretty much all kind of maintenance on my bikes. At the age of 14 I spend a more than a month in summer learning from a bike mechanic how to build a bike and make wheels. Right now the only maintenance is repairing flats for everything else I take my bikes to my trusted local bike shop.
  • What cycling specific tools do you have in your “bike shed”?

Because I lost so many tools I just keep anymore the essential stuff. But I also still own some really vintage Campagnolo tools that maybe I can use on my old bikes someday.

  • What is your favourite piece of cycling kit or accessory?
I’ve always been really into tech stuff, so at the moment the essential accessory
is my Garmin 🙂
  • What do you love about cycling?
That moment on your ride when your mind some kind away from reality and the
best ideas comes through your mind. The only problem is remembering this ideas
after the ride.
  • What annoys most about cycling?
Wheelsuckers …. but hey … during my racing years I was known as one of the best
guys sucking wheels 😀
  • Other than yourself, who is your favourite cyclist?
The guy that took me to all of this, my dad!
  • If you could have dinner with 3 professional cyclists, who would they be?
Can I pick just one? And not a cyclist, but some kind related into the sport?
Then it is Betsy Andreu!
  • What are your craziest/fondest cycling memories?
I was in a 185 km international race. It was my first year in the Elite category
and it was my first race where also some pro teams could participate. It was damn
hot and after 2/3 of the race I was also able to get into the break. I can’t remember
how many water bottles I throw over my head and how many I drunk. Suddenly I
just had a strange desire, I didn’t want water anymore, neighter energy drinks, coke
or whatever. I had just in my mouth that strange taste of chamomile tea with honey.
I shout to my friend that was passing me the water bottles to find some chamomile
tea for the next lap. He is still talking about this nowadays. He had to go from a bar
to another to ask if the had tea in the mid of summer. Luckily he found a grocery shop
that was open, bought there the tea bags and honey and went back to the next bar
to get some hot water. At the end I got my chamomile tea and it ended to be one of
my best road races.
  • What is your favourite post ride coffee/tea spot, and what would you normally buy?
Well my rides starts from my home that is the local hotel/restaurant and coffee stop
where most of the locals start their rides. So this is the place I end at the end of my rides
and I usually end to pick one of my moms Tiramisù.
UstariaPosta_3-1
  • Apart from the Dolomites, what other regions in Europe have you ridden and have fond memories of?
I took part at World Cup races and World Championchips in Mountainbike and Cyclocross
and I’ve many memories. The many times I had to race with another bike because the
bike wasn’t delivered by the airplane company. The time a friend of mine told me he was
taking care of the airplane tickets for the next MTB World Cup race in Norway and he
told the travel agent a wrong name of the town and we almost ended to land on a Fjord
near the Arctic Circle. Our bikes arrived this time correctly on the wrong place and both
had to race with other bikes.
Or the time at 18, just one week after I got my driving license I drove alone back and
forth from the Dolomites to Budapest (1600 km) to take part to another MTB World Cup
race.
  • What is your favourite training route?

Starting from home without any doubt the Passo delle Erbe loop:

Capture

 

  • What is the biggest cycling lie you have told your partner?

I got an amazing deal on this bike!

  • What would you like your partner to buy you for your next birthday?
Time
  • Is there a local cycling outfit/company/cycling club/cycling group/person that you would like to plug?

If you plan to ride the Dolomites one day then you can find my at our family owned hotel (www.ustariaposta.it).

_X1W8531-2

  • Is there anything else you feel like talking about?
Make sure you take a look at my little side project where I’m describing the
Dolomites climbs the way my legs feel them: www.cyclingdolomites.com
150602_3101-2
Thanks Igor, its been a pleasure climbing a few mountains with you, all the best with the Giro this week.

_________________________

And somewhere in California

121308__BH16013125842_DSC_5993134322__BH16503142931__BH16629145511_DSC_5671153009__BH157462016_AToC_Stg01_Podium_Stage_1stPeterSAGAN(SVK-TNK)_2ndWouterWIPPERT(CAN-CPT)_3rdDylanGROENEWEGEN(NED-TLJ)
tumblr_nqo3d53NAS1u26tqlo1_1280
162452__BH17150
 _______________

Alcoholic Beverage of the Week – Prohibition Liquor Gin

And whilst were on then subject of South Australian made products, some local entrepreneurs have been dabbling in Gin, and appear to have found a popular niche with their Prohibition Liquor Gin.
CaptureCapture2
When prohibition started in 1920, an industry was born… To bring the people what they wanted. Gin was the liquor of choice for clandestine, bootleg spirit makers. In this tradition, almost 100 years later, prohibition liquor co was created. Echoing their small batch craftsmanship, this time by choice… In the search for quality with the finest botanicals from all over the world and detail from artisan hands.

Keep an eye out for it at your local bar, bottlo or Restaurant, and enjoy.

Or make contact with them here.

Mobile: +61 417 818 437
Email: gin@prohibitionliquor.co

And so we’ve reached the end of another Wednesday Legs.  I trust you’ve enjoyed reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed pulling it together.  If you have, forward a link to this blog to 2 people you think hasn’t read this before.
__________________________
Wednesday Legs of the Week
probably NSFW
tumblr_o6z0kkDozw1u80c7jo1_1280
more new legs in the Legs page – link here.
Til next time
Tight Spokes
iPib

Leave a comment